This forum is now read-only

To login to the new support channel and community forums, go to the Support Portal

Single shot advice

I am a relative novice with the L1 and am interested trying single shots so would appreciate advice on which baskets to consider and perhaps some bean/recipe options I can try. I have experimented with quite a few different beans and extraction methods before arriving at espresso and prefer light-medium roasts with chocolate/nut flavours over anything fruity.

I currently have a Mythos grinder and have been using an 18g and more recently a 15g basket but after a wee trip to Accident Emergency following quite a serious coffee OD I'm inclined to drink smaller cups and more of them...

Comments

• A couple of options for you:
    - IMS "The Single". This is a relatively new basket and is the most convenient since you can continue to use your existing 58+mm tamper.
    - VST or LM Strada 7g basket. This is a more "true" single basket for which you will need a separate 41mm tamper.

I have used both and my personal opinion is that the IMS requires a shorter "ristretto" type shot (e.g. 10g -> 10g) whereas the VST/LM does a better job at producing a more standard shot (e.g. 7g -> 14g).

My preference is for the VST/LM though finding a good tamper is tricky. I have a 41mm tamper from Torr but it is not a good fit, if anyone knows of a better one I would be interested to hear it.
  • hi Al

do type 'IMS' and 'VST' and perhaps 'baskets' into the search box in the top right and your should get some positive matches come back as we have chewed this over in some detail in the past
    a tapered basket, like the one we supply our machines with, is more forgiving but doesnt yield the last word in taste