This forum is now read-only

To login to the new support channel and community forums, go to the Support Portal

L1 with HG one

Hello all. I am new to the world of home espresso and plunged in with a Londinium and HG one grinder. My question is in the proper grind with the HG one. To get a finer grind to use the light tamp method with the button tamper I'm having to make around 150-200 revolutions of the grinder handle for 16 grams of beans and a reasonable extraction time. Even with a coarser grind (still 100 revolutions) and a 30lb tamp my extraction is around 35-40 seconds before blonding. The grinder is the new TiN coated burr set, so I know it takes more revolutions, but does anyone else have any suggestions? I know quite a few guys out there have this combo of machines.

Either way, the shots are still the best I've ever tasted!

Cheers

Chad

Comments

• hi chad

with the parameters you have provided, what is the weight of the espresso that results from it?
  • Chad,

I only measure my pre ground beans. I have the original smaller burr set and I only have to turn the handle max 30 times for a 16g dose. The resistance is done at about 25 revolutions... I then give the flywheel a free wheeling spin as I tap the lower funnel with my fingers. The required revolutions reports by the TiN burr owners seem almost hard to believe, are they supposed to settle down once the burrs are "Broken In"?
  • I haven't weighed the output of the grinder, but there is basically no grind retention with this grinder.

I'm hoping that they will break in a bit and cut my grind time down. I spend more time grinding than the rest of the process. If I change the setting to be very much more coarse then the extraction is well under 28 seconds, even with a heavy tamp.

Perhaps it is just the TiN coating. It just doesn't grab the beans as well or something.
  • hi chad

we need to know the weight of the resultant espresso if we are going to be able to help you