This forum is now read-only

To login to the new support channel and community forums, go to the Support Portal

US 240V Questions

Hello,

I have just about decided that my next machine will be an Londinium 1. I live in the US and am considering the 110V version vs the 240V version. I am not an electrician by any means... so I was wondering if you could help me answer a few questions.

I have an electrician coming out tomorrow to give me an estimate on what it would cost to install a 240V line / receptacle in my kitchen for the Londinium 1. The price he quotes will determine if I order the 240V machine or the 110V machine.

If I do end up ordering the 240V version, can you tell me if this combination will be sufficient?

- Simple Heavy Duty 240V / 5000W appliance timer. (More Pictures)

- NEMA 6-20R plug coming off of the Londinium 1

- NEMA 6-20R receptacle in the wall

Does anyone have a source for a 240V timer that lets you program the different days of the week? It is not a big deal, but there are a couple days during the week where it would be a luxury to program different on-off times. But I can definitely get by without it, given the short warm-up time of the L-1.

I think that's it. For now...

Thanks!

Comments

• It seems in Europe there are many timer switches like that, for instance this one: http://www.ritel.nl/hq-tijdschakelaar

I hade one years ago and the user interface was a bit clumsy. An engineer had hidden all the possible configuration steps under a limited amount of buttons and display symbols. Sometimes I look for a nice replacement but on the Rocket I now just use a very simple one that does the same thing every day. Clicking in/out a new start time is easy.
  • Just my $.02 and maybe all its worth: For USA non-commercial use 110v is more than adequate and vastly simpler all the way around for most home users.