This forum is now read-only

To login to the new support channel and community forums, go to the Support Portal

Brew Water Smell

Good Morning All

I got my L-R on Monday, set it up, and so far so good. I have been getting fairly good (not superb, just good) fairly consistent shots. There was a steep learning curve coming from a Sage DTP, and using the 58mm filter is very different, and much less forgiving, and the shot quality I feel is purely down to my technique.

However, when I pull some brew water through the grouphead into a cup, either to clear the screen or warm the cup or whatever, it has an odd smell, and I'm not sure what this could be. Has anyone else found this?

I use VOLVIC bottled water excusively (and have done since the machine was new on Monday), and the smell is NOT present when drawing boiler water into a cup from the tap.

Its not a huge smell, but certainly there. Im not very good at describing smells, but the closest I can think is corrugated cardboard or 'newness'?

It doesn't seem to affect the cup, but as I don't have anything to compare it to I wouldn't know.

Thanks in advance

GP

Comments

• hi gregg

thanks for posting. I'm afraid I'm not very good at replying to these sorts of questions without causing offence, but i will try

i haven't noticed that before with a new machine myself, but i dont doubt that it is possible

its difficult to quantify such things, so lets start with what can be quantified and perhaps once that is addressed your issue will also be resolved

it is quite common for a degree of grit and muck from the fabrication of the boiler to wash out when the machine is new

some of you will be reading this and be going, oh you'd think they'd rinse them at the factory wouldn't you?

we do of course, and the majority of it is removed as a result, but it takes quite a lot of time and quite a lot of water to get every last piece of grit out of a new machine