This forum is now read-only

To login to the new support channel and community forums, go to the Support Portal

Adjusting the Water Dose on the Londinium R

Reiss:

I have been using the Londinium for a few weeks now, and I must say, that as far as cup quality is concerned, it would be difficult to be more impressed with the performance of the machine. Really, well done.

The one issue I have is that the Londinium seems to delver a shot that is twice the volume of a traditional single shot. We've discussed this before, so forgive me if I'm being a pest, but I want to understand the reasons that the Londinium has been preset to deliver the amount of coffee that it does.

To start from the beginning:

When I worked as a barista in my 20s, we used a four group Aurora, a traditional spring-operated lever machine just like the Londinium (it is for this reason that I wanted a lever machine). The machine was calibrated to deliver a single shot, traditionally defined as about 7 grams of coffee per roughly <1.5 ounces of water. A single pull would yield enough coffee to fill a demitasse about 2/3 full. This was our single espresso, and all of the mixed drinks were predicated on the volume of a single shot.<br />