This forum is now read-only

To login to the new support channel and community forums, go to the Support Portal

Londinium 1 in a small office environment

Hi all,

So my research lab at university has an aging consumer-grade, dual boiler, semi-automatic espresso machine that we would like to replace. Though it's a bit of a stretch price-wise, my advisor is willing to consider the Londinium 1 (at my request). We typical pull 4-10 shots/day and only one of us (me) makes milk-based drinks so shot volume and recovery aren't too much of an issue. I'm new to spring lever machines, so I have some questions:

1. Is there any reason to be concerned about using this machine in a (essentially) small office environment, say 5-8 people? Would it be better to stick with a more traditional semi-automatic machine. For example, what happens if someone accidentally lets the lever go at the bottom of the stoke?

2. How easy is it to use the machine? I personally plan to spend a fair amount of time dialing my shots in, but the machine needs to be reasonable for any beginner to use* with a 10 min tutorial. My advisor made the analogy that company cars shouldn't be manual transmissions, so I'm hoping it's on par with our current semi-automatic machine. Watching the videos, it seems as simple as pulling the lever, waiting a few seconds for pre-infusion, and then releasing it slowly.

*And by "use," I mean drinkable to non-discerning folk. Let's set the bar low and say Starbucks-quality.

a. What is a reasonable length of time to expect the machine to last? I'm guessing the lack of electronics translates to serious reliability, but can anyone give me a reasonable time frame before we'd need to replace it. Keep in mind the environment outlined in my first question.