This forum is now read-only

To login to the new support channel and community forums, go to the Support Portal

Londinium 2 group for US questions

I'm leaning towards getting a Londinium 2 for a retail cafe / bakery customer of mine (I'm a coffee roaster by trade) and have a few questions-

My experience with commercial espresso machines has been mostly HX machines, one dual boiler and a couple spring levers. I believe the spring levers are Astoria and La San Marco machines. Sadly, I have very little experience using the lever machines as they are not close by.

I did poke around here and on the web looking for some info, so apologies if I'm asking for something that's been answered. Any links are appreciated!

- What kind of daily / weekly/ etc. maintenance does the L2 require from the users?

- How about the ritual of pulling a shot vs a HX machine? Any real difference in flow?

- I realize this is in the realm of opinion, but I'm asking anyway. What kind of shot volume and time does the spring lever do with the supplied baskets? What size are the baskets too, while I'm asking about them...

- I read that the groups are temp stable because of the way they are heated, vs the dipper method. Is there a link somewhere to explain that more fully? I'm just curious.

- is there any advantage to insulating or not insulating the boiler?

-Are the commercial machines designed to be left on overnight? The scuttlebutt on all the HX machines that I've heard is that powering them on / off causes stress on the metal joints and doesn't give any real power savings.

I'm starting to be of the mind that simple = better in a lot a ways when it comes to using a good lever machine in a commercial environment assuming Baristi are physically capable of pulling a shot.

Ever consider designing a grinder Reiss? :)

Thanx!

Rich

Comments

• hi richard

thanks for posting