This forum is now read-only

To login to the new support channel and community forums, go to the Support Portal

Where does LR digital preinfusion fit into process of dialing in a bean?

My typical process of dialing in a bean goes something like this:

1. Adjust grind to achieve a 1:2 (dose : yield) ratio in ~30 sec.
2. Pull another shot, stopping short for a 1:1.5 ratio.
3. Pull another shot, stopping long for a 1:2.5 ratio.
4. Taste each of the three shots, and pick the ratio I prefer based on taste.
5. Keep selected ratio constant, adjust grind (finer or coarser) to get desired taste.

The above process assumes a static preinfusion pressure.

Where does the digital preinfusion capability of the LR fit? Do I arbitrarily pick a preinfusion pressure to start with? If so, what pressure? Do I adjust preinfusion pressure after step 5?

How do I know if my preinfusion pressure is too high? Too low?

I appreciate the help as I'm new to the LR. Previous experience has been E61 machines where my I had no ability to control preinfusion pressure.

Comments

• hi lee

i tend to take a simpler approach, using the machine to make life easy as i have designed it that way

a dark roast likes a shorter shot, as they extract more readily, and the opposite for a light roast

my machines take care of this for you as a change in pre-infusion pressure moves all the parameters in the correct direction

so use a constant dose to get started, typically 18g in our 18-20g IMS basket, and just vary the pre-infusion pressure

the LR comes set to 3 bar at the puck out of the box (ensure the offset is -1.0 bar not -1.4), and this isnt a bad place to start

if you have a dark roast you are going to be dialling the pre-infusion right back to boiler pressures that we had on the L1(2012-16), eg 1.3 bar and the lever will grab much higher and the shot will be much short to prevent over extraction and it all works in harmony to get you an optimal extraction