This forum is now read-only

To login to the new support channel and community forums, go to the Support Portal

Playing with flavour profiles..

My local roaster makes a point of pouring me a shot from whatever batch of beans I purchase from him - he has a Robur paired with a fairly recent San Remo 2-group pump machine. It is great to be able to compare his shots to my own, coming off the L2 and my old Faema grinder - with its comparatively small, flat burrs.

I have said before, I am no expert, so these are just ramblings really.

What I have been noticing with his shots is this really bright, acidic bloom that pretty much pervades the whole shot, with all the other flavours and experiences of the espresso playing second-fiddle to this overwhelming aspect. This has been a feature of most of the roasts I have tried at his establishment.

When I get home to the L2, this phenomena is almost entirely absent - I end up with a smoother shot, which develops in the mouth and is far more mellow. As I dose higher, I get hints of the bloom, but this never peaks like it seems to on shots from the San Remo.

I really love the delivery of the L2 shots - but I quite like the excitement of the acid from the San Remo too - so I had a play around with the lever this morning to see if I could get the best of both worlds....

I dosed approx 18gr and tamped fairly firmly on a fine grind. I then pulled the lever down to let the group fill, and pre-infusion start. Watching the basket, I allowed pre-infusion to run until I saw the first beads of extraction appearing - about 8 seconds. I released the lever and let the extraction centralise and a couple of drips fall, then I pulled the lever down again, let the group refill (this was momentary) and released it a second time. Then I just let the shot run, removing it at blonding - around 35ml.