This forum is now read-only

To login to the new support channel and community forums, go to the Support Portal

Recipe for Yirgacheffe?

I have some fresh, light-roasted Yirgacheffe from a respected local roaster that I have no idea how to pull. I tried 16g in the IMS 24H basket and also in the OEM basket. In the former case, I got 18g in 30" and in the latter 14g in 31", at the same grind. The former had a preinfusion of 2 seconds, the latter of 6 seconds. These very ristretto shots had little crema and although the former hinted a lovely flavours, I'm sure it wasn't as good as it could be. I'd be grateful for any suggestions. I have little experience of pulling lightly roasted beans and have never tasted Yirgacheffe before.

Thanks, Matt

Comments

• I too am curious about this.

I have been using 15.8g in the IMS B70 2T 26.5H or the OEM basket for the Yirga.
  • Why not start with my rule of thumb flow rate of 1g of espresso per second?

If you want ristretto simply pull the cup earlier in the shot, rather than reducing the flow rate

As described I would say the first shot is over extracted and the second shot is very over extracted

Neither will taste pleasant as the flow rate is too slow

Kind regards

Reiss
  • Thanks for the suggestion, Reiss. I'll try that tomorrow. I had got the idea somewhere that I had to grind very fine for this coffee, and when I had problems I went even finer!!
    Reiss Gunson post=7147 wrote: Why not start with my rule of thumb flow rate of 1g of espresso per second?

If you want ristretto simply pull the cup earlier in the shot, rather than reducing the flow rate

As described I would say the first shot is over extracted and the second shot is very over extracted

Neither will taste pleasant as the flow rate is too slowT

Kind regards

Reiss